Information revolution has changed the way of mass communications and had some bad and good effects on individual lives as well as on society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is to see the colossal upsurge in the use of mass communication. There is a widespread worry that the information revolution will only lead to a myriad of concerns in society. In my opinion, this revolution has more negative effects than positive in society.

On the one hand, critics may point out one of the most significant benefits of the information revolution is the availability of extra knowledge. For example, students, unlike in the past, now have more time to spend on mass media, as less time is spent on studies, thanks to efficient communication technology.

On the other hand, there is a deluge of arguments in favour of my stance. One of the most preponderant ones is that communication dependancy has negative consequences for the communities. Firstly, people are losing jobs because machines are increasingly taking over the roles of humans, such as in the car manufacturing sector. According to "Times Magazine January 2013 edition", the proportion of Americans employed in the car manufacturing has dropped from 30% to 10% today. Secondly, people are much much relying on mass communication, hence becoming less efficient and less productive.

Lastly, the government of Dubai is taking a great initiative in educating its citizens. citizens are being encouraged to spend a significant portion of their time on physical exercise rather than understanding the complexity of the information revolution happening around the world.

In the view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite having some benefits, the drawback of the information revolution in terms of mass communication is indeed too dire to ignore.