Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. What is your opinion about this ? Discuss with appropriate examples.

One of the most conspicuous trend of today’s contemporary era is influx in strip malls. People’s attitude towards shopping has significantly changed over the past. Although, some expertise believe large shopping plazas are taking over small shops, some disagree with this notion. This essay will discuss large shopping complex over taking small shops and department store are booming in urban areas.

Firstly, large shopping complex have plenty of benefits. Shopping malls are one-stop-shop with various facilities. For instance, ample place for car parks, kids play area, food court, cinema, supermarket, cloths shop and many more facilities under one roof. Versatility and convenience of shopping malls is gaining attention of the consumers. Hence, we can say large shopping complex are taking over small retail stores- due to it’s conduciveness.

Secondly, small shops are in demand, especially in central business district. Urban areas have less space available and is not suitable for large shopping complex. Small shops are best suited for people working in the city who can grab lunch, stationery, etc on the move. For example, Woolworths express, Seven-eleven, Coles express are designed to serve customers during rush hours. Therefore, it can be said small shops are still successfully running business.

To conclude, this essay discussed large shopping mall are taking over small shops and small stores are not effected by large shopping plazas. In my opinion, large shopping centres are taking over small retailers.