Law can change human behavior. Do you agree or not?

The importance of law in changing human behaviour, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of law on human behaviour has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on society in recent years. It can be agreed that law can change man’s actions to some extent. This essay will elaborate both positive and negative effects of law and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are various reasons why law can alter people’s manners, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that imposing punishments for misconducting can force people to behave in the right way. For instance, if people know they could be imprisoned as littering, they will keep their surroundings clear. Furthermore, heavy punishments of law are always the tool of government to protect the order of society, which is usually improved year by year. Therefore, law plays a vital role not only in obeying the man to behave rightly but also in the government’s monitoring methods.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks, which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of law on human actions, but the most alarming one is rooted in the fact that law cannot change a person’s nature. As an illustration, there are still a large number of extremely serious criminals such as drug smugglers and terrorists despite applying capital punishments and increasing security in many developed countries. In addition, an aggressive person might become more aggravated due to the implementation of rigorous rules. By this way, to make man behave appropriately, there should be an integration of different methods rather than law.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impact of law on people’s behavior is prominent, although the way other methods, for instance, enhancing education for individuals can affect human manners should not be overlooked.