Marketing strategy for some companies is offers and discounts, for some it is reputation. Should consumer goods companies concentrate special discounts and offers to promote their products or they should focus on reputation? What do you think is more important?

The topic on different marketing strategy is a debatable one and each side has its logical arguments. I staunchly believe that consumer goods companies should primarily focus on reputation than the discounts and offers as the company's reputation is the most important factor for sustainability in the market.

On the one hand, discounts and offers attract customers who are willing to buy goods at a cheaper price. This will increase the overall sale of the company and is considered as a good marketing strategy.

However, there are other substantial factors which affirm that reputation plays a pivotal role as a marketing strategy. Firstly, people always prefer reputed and better quality product rather than the cheaper products. For Instance, the sale of Tata Nano car dropped drastically as the car was cheaper and could not match proper car manufacturing standards. Secondly, the discounted products cannot be replaced or exchanged whereas the non-discounted and reputed goods can always be replaced and exchanged. Hence, customer satisfaction is fulfilled. Lastly, it takes a lot of time for building the reputation. So, the primary focus should always be reputation building as customers are loyal to the reputed brands.

To conclude, reputation as a marketing strategy is very crucial as it leads to customer satisfaction and better financial results for the company.