Nowadays, television is an essential part of our lives, as a medium to spread news and awareness, and, for some, it even acts as a companion. What is your opinion about this?

Television has become an essential part of our lives. Several decades ago, it was conceived as an entertaining apparatus. Then, its potential for spreading news and awareness was discovered, and it began invading almost every home around the globe. Today, billions of people from all over the world watch television at least a few minutes per day. Nonetheless, the fact that something is essential does not imply it is a good thing.

First of all, we must reckon that television has become an essential part of our lives. Billions of people rely on it in order to receive information that they believe is necessary to lead a well-informed life. Other people depend on educational programs available on television to keep educating themselves or their children. Also, it helps some people lead a healthy mental life, since it keeps their minds distracted from a great number of problems. However, in my opinion, the fact that television has become an essential part of life is something that should alarm us, since this means that people might not be aware of the personal interests of the people and companies that run television channels.

Most news programs, for example, sometimes portray political events in a way that matches the ideology of the owners of the television company that broadcasts such programs. In other cases, the owners’ moral standards moulds the information delivered to the audience.

Therefore, parents around the world should become aware of how the business and personal interests of television channel owners shape the information provided, so that their children also become aware and make more informed decisions regarding what source of information they will prefer to trust in; because, the fact is that, even though it’s not necessarily a good thing, it is essential for billions of people.