Should marketing for consumer goods companies like clothing and food focus on reputation or short term strategies like discount and special offers? and in what ways this can impact reputation? why?

Over the past few decades, there has been a high degree of the ambivalence over this matter whether should marketing for consumer goods companies like clothing and food focus on fame and good faith or on short-term strategies like discount and special offers. People have the different view about it, some says that companies should focus on short-term strategies like discount and special offer, but I believe that its the brand building which can be only achieved by focusing on building fame and good faith among consumers. This essay will further elaborate reasons to support this notion and then deduce a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are myriads of reasons to support this notion but one of the most compelling reason is that once the fame and good faith and brand are developed among the consumers they would start showing the faith in the product and then short-term gain such as discount and offers would not be required.

On the contrary, there are people who conjecture that a discount and special offers help companies generate the big sale and also helps in stock clearance. They say that offering the special offers companies can attract the consumer. Apart from that this also gives consumer chance to try out the product, once the consumer test the product that will also help in building the trust and will help companies building the brand image. Although it seems ostensibly veridical this is not the case, as the frequent discount offers damages the brand value.

After analyzing the above facts, I would like to recapitulate that, to build a good brand value consumer good companies like clothing and food should focus on building the faith and fame and should refrain from strategies like discount and special offers.