In some countries around the world, voting is compulsory.Do you agree with the notion of compulsory voting?

Compulsory voting has been a conspicuous and debated topic of the the century. By voting, we chose a leader we want to follow and trust that they will make our nation prosperous. Although, some nations agree for vote compulsion, others do not believe in such ideology. This essay will discuss, why voting should be compulsory and how economy and living standards may suffer if people don’t chose to vote.

Firstly, voting is human right. In democratic countries - it is rule by the people for the people. Politicians are responsible to keep their promises made on a national platform. For example, provided better healthcare system, education, jobs opportunities and safe borders, which is impossible to achieve if we don’t elect a leader. Therefore, we can say voting is a first step towards a thriving nation.

Secondly, human tendency is evolved to disagree with rules and compulsions. Similarly, compulsory voting is not every ones cup of tea because they have lost trust in political leaders. For instance, most politicians fail to keep up their words and as a result common people suffer and ultimately nations economic progress is jeopardised. Hence, we can say people mistrust in political leaders result in lack of support for compulsory voting.

To conclude, this essay discussed why compulsory voting can have positive benefits and mistrust in government can change peoples prospects towards compulsory voting. In my opinion, we do need a leader with similar vision to progress, and hence I am in support of compulsory voting.