Some people think children should be given the freedom to make their own individual choices, while others believe constant supervision from parents is required. Which position is closer to your own opinion? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience.

Over the last few decades, the amount of freedom which parents give their offspring has been increased dramatically and become the subject of considerable controversy. Despite the widely supported opinion that children naturally are not able to make right choices and thus need persistent parental control, this essay will prove that due to mainly positive impact on children's mental health and direct contribution to their future personality this trend is mostly advantageous.

To begin with, decision making practice is obviously one of the crucial factors in developing the variety of social and emotional learning skills in early childhood. Generally, this occurs when kids observe others, hear about and discuss values, and have opportunities to make choices and experience their consequences. Maintaining healthy mental state this approach acknowledges their important role in society, too. For example, according to the last research of Department of Social Development in Australia, making decisions ensures forming healthy psyche in young age particularly.

Moreover, this approach significantly simplifies the process of upbringing, understanding kids’ issues and being in tune with their needs. The opportunity to influence things that affect them can play a vital role in the formation of personality. For instance, allowing children to make simple choices such as food for breakfast or clothes may provide the basement for healthy self-esteem and confidence.

In conclusion, in spite of the popular opinion that children constantly require parental supervision, I firmly believe that allowing children to make their own choices remains an essential factor of children’s development process.