Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes is one of the most widely used drugs in the world. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long-term health costs are high- for the smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.Do Governments have a legitimate role to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to an individual?

One of the most conspicuous trend in today’s contemporary era is that people are consuming more tobacco products, than before. Promoting tobacco products can be associated with influx of tobacco consumption. Although, to address this issue some expertise believe government plays a pivotal role in protecting individuals from adverse effects of tobacco, whereas other suggest it’s individual’s responsibility. This essay will discuss, how government can take portion of responsibility to stop people from consuming tobacco and it’s Individual’s liability to look after their own health.

Firstly, smoking is injurious to health. Education people about detrimental effects of smoking tobacco can make people conscious of their decision. Government can play an important role in spreading health and wellbeing awareness among people via mass media. Imposing hefty tax on tobacco products may lead to decline in buying them. Government can issue health warning and keep general public informed about repercussions of smoking. Hence, we can say government can play a part in helping people make informed decision.

Secondly, individuals health is personal responsibility. Individual should make intuitive decisions when health is concerned. It is dependent on an individual to chose a health or unhealthy lifestyle. A pack of cigarettes continue warming message and it’s available in all languages, however, if an individual still decides to smoke, knowing the facts and health consequences- they have no one to blame, if their health condition worsens. Therefore, we can say it’s in individual power to chose their lifestyle.

To conclude, this essay discussed how government have little power in controlling people’s smoking habits and health is personal accountability. In my opinion, it’s the individual responsibility to make informed decisions about their health not governments.