Whether studying films at school is as important as studying literature?

The importance of studying which has been debatable has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of studying films or literature has sparked controversy over the impact of this trend on school education, in recent years. It can be said that, learning drama is as vital as learning literature, however, some people believe in opposite notion. This essay will elaborate why, learning drama is as important as learning literature and why literature should be the only focus of study and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reason why films should also be studied at schools, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that, films are reflection of literature. Example for instance, Romeo and Juliet a classic love story by Shakespeare, which was converted into theatre play, which gave it's casts and the story much needed popularity and appreciation. Drama, thus plays an import role in promoting famous individualism though acting.

Nevertheless, some people adopt opposing view and tend to believe that literature is the only important subject to be studied, as there are innumerable reasons for that, but the most prominent one lies in the fact that, literature requires more concentration. Example as an illustration, according to a reputed university, children often find it difficult to dedicate time towards covering literature syllabus due to their commitment towards other activities, as a result large number of students perform poorly in literature. Therefore, it can be said other activities may take attention away from studying literature.

For what has been said above, it can be concluded that, studying films is prominent and should be encouraged at schools, but importance of studying literature should not be overlooked.