1.1. The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

At this note, Dr. Krap compares the result of his current study with the study conducted by Dr. Field, and propounds that the implemented method of study by Dr. Field, observation-based, is not accurate one for anthropology studies; in addition, his used method which is interview-centered presents the most accurate information in this field. This acclaim cannot be accepted as it stands since it relies on the series of surmises, all of which are challengeable and require further clue and evidence for their verification. The following paragraphs will list these challenges and pieces of evidence.

The first issue with this comparison is the varied study condition, the first varied condition is the scope of study considered by two professors. While Dr. Field merely focused on Tertia island, the study area in Dr. Krap research is wider and includes a list of islands and Tertia island. Therefore, the comparison has not had an identical study scope, and there is the possibility of the deviation of result in the study done by Dr. Krap. For instance, that list contains lots of populated islands in which parents directly are responsible of babysitting and it is in contrast of prevalent child rearing system in Teria island; however, since the majority of samples’ rearing system is direct kid sitting by parents, the ultimate result shows the average which is inclined to the majority. Another issue with the note is the 20 years difference between the two studies. Dr. Krap considered the conditions and rearing culture have stayed stable during this period. However, there is a probability of the fluctuation and variation of the system. For example, during these 20 years, the children who were the case studies by Dr. Field have become an adult and parents, and according to their previous child-parent relationship, they prefer to rear their kids directly without the participation of others. Consequently, the missing evidence for this part of the note is a clue for the similarity of the studies islands with Tertia about the parenting; furthermore, a clue that situation during the past twenty years was stable. Otherwise, this comparison is shaky.

The second problem with the note is the clarification of the observation-based study as an unsuitable and inaccurate method of study. Even with consideration of Dr. Field study’s falsehood, the overgeneralization of one error to the entire system and method is not logic. Maybe, the mistake of the method at Dr. Field study was for the sake of his fallacious implementation; for example, observing the specified rage range or region in the island which is not an exact indicator of the entire population in the island. Therefore, this generalization is not a logic action. However, it could be accepted if Dr. Krap gives clue by listing the other researches which use the observation-based method and conducted the wrong result, in a case which the number of failing by this method was higher than half of the entire studies using the observation method; moreover, there was no mistake with the implementation of method, this surmise would be verified.

Finally, the last issue with the note is the last part of it which Dr. Krap believes his students will depict the most accurate data about the parenting system of Tertia island by the interview-centered study. This hypothesis is skeptical since there are two missing clues. First of all, evidence about the participation of entire case studies, since there is a possibility of the shyness or introverted kids in the study sample who are not participate in the study. The second missing clue is the level of expertness of the students at the usage of this method. Since they do not have sufficient experience and knowledge over this kind of study as does Dr. Field.

To wrap it up, all the mentioned missing clues and evidence depict the flaw of this note and the requirement of the further explanation for its verification