“Advertising with Cable Communication Corp. is a great way to increase your profits. Recently the Adams Car Dealership began advertising with Cable Communications and over the last 30 days, sales are up 15% over the previous month. Let us increase your

The author supports the argument that advertising with Cable Communications Corp. increases the profits of a business. This statement is based on the case of Adams Car Dealership, which profits increase was up to 15% when using Cable Communication to advertise its products. While this argument seems to be convincing at first glance, it lies over various assumptions that make the statement suspicious and unreliable if carefully analyzed.

To begin with, the author did not specify whether or not Adams Car Dealership had previous advertising support. It may be the case that this company’s advertisement was being performed by a less fortunate consultant or itself, which would favor the writer’s announcement. However, if no advertisement was used before, it could lead to the idea that the real great way to increase profits is simply using advertisement to disseminate a brand throughout a spot of commerce. To make the argument reliable, the author should provide further details on this aspect. He should, for instance, include the historical changes of the kind of advertisement Adams Cars used and how Cable Communications improved it.

Additionally, the lack of information about the period of the year when this increase of profits took place undermines the argument. Herein, the author is assuming that the 15% of profits increase was made in a non-typical period of improvement. What if the increase of the profits was made in December? It is logical to imagine that people worldwide tend to spend more money in this month as the upcoming celebrations. Therefore, Adams Cars profits could have been increased due to the public behavior, regardless of the intervention of Cable Communications. The author should provide specific details about the period of time when this enhancement occurred and how much was the variation of profits relative to the previous month in the last years.

Last but not least, the author committed a fallacy when assuring the profit increase of a business based on Adams Cars experience. Even if Cable Communications Corp did have an influence on the augmentation of Adams Cars, it does not mean that its techniques and strategies would apply to any kind of business. To be transparent, the writer shall provide more examples of successful cases, including secondary facts such as type of market, geographical location, period of the year the increase was made, marketing techniques used, etc. This information would provide a better understanding of the work Cable Communications does, allowing the public to analyze the effect that it could have on their specific case. For example, Cable Communications Corp expertise could be the promotion of technology, then its services could not be useful at all for a small family business trying to sell manufacture, but for a computer trader.

In conclusion, the writer does not present an argument strong enough to be persuasive. Instead, it weakens the statement using various assumptions, including unsuccessful Adams Cars' advertisement prior to the intervention of Cable Communication Corp., the 30-days period when the increase of profit took place was not one of typical improvement, e.g. December, and the capability of Cable Communication techniques to work on any type of business. By providing further details to clarify the listed suppositions, Cable Communication Corp. would be more transparent and definitely trustful.