The following appeared in an editorial in a Prunty County newspaper.

"In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County recently lowered its speed limit from 55 miles per hour to 45 on all major county roads. But the 55 mph limit should be restored, because this safety effort has failed. Most drivers are exceeding the new speed limit and the accident rate throughout Prunty County has decreased only slightly. If we want to improve the safety of our roads, we should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths and resurfacing rough roads. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The solution suggested by the newspaper in order to lower road accident rate in Prunty County looks very reasonable at first glance, since Butler County’s strategy incorporates a complex of actions rather than simply lowering the speed limit. However, no advice should be followed blindly without evaluating the current situation and considering possible differences between counties. The newspaper doesn’t provide any quantitative or qualitative arguments supporting the conclusion, which will make it more cogent.

First of all, it’s hard to claim any experiment successful or not, if the expectations hasn’t been properly set. What was the desired accidents rate? Is it possible that the previous accident rate was already very low, so decreasing it was a very hard task? An additional comparison of road accident rates between different counties can provide some insights about the “baseline” accident rate and set the right expectations.

Secondly, it would be useful to compare road situations between Pruny and Butler Counties before trying to apply the same methods. Butler County could have more rough roads and lower lane widths, so their example wouldn’t really be applicable to the current situation in Pruny County. Instead, a qualitative analysis on the main causes of road accidents can show the main directions for improvements - it can be particular parts of the road, which required additional attention, or frequent rains in the county. Later can justify lowering the speed limit in the first place.

Finally, the argument that because most drivers are exceeding the new speed limit, the limit is useless and doesn’t lower the accidents rates is not entirely convincing. The newspaper doesn’t says anything if the average drivers’ speed decreased or remained on the same level. It’s very common, that drivers exceed the speed limit, but usually only by strictly limited value, say 10-15 mph, because otherwise they become subjects to sensible fee. So additional statistics regarding average speed will be helpful here.

Overall, the newspaper should have brought a few additional arguments in order to support it’s suggestions, otherwise the conclusion seems unwarranted.