The following appeared in an editorial in a Prunty County newspaper.

"In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County recently lowered its speed limit from 55 miles per hour to 45 on all major county roads. But the 55 mph limit should be restored, because this safety effort has failed. Most drivers are exceeding the new speed limit and the accident rate throughout Prunty County has decreased only slightly. If we want to improve the safety of our roads, we should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths and resurfacing rough roads. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the arqument.

The author of the editorial suggests to restore 55 mph speed limit in Prunty County and undertake the similar road improvements that Butler County completed 5 years ago. While the suggestion may sound plausible, the author fails to make a cogent and concise argument, relying on unproven assumptions and analogies and being unable to provide the necessary data on highway safety in Prunty County.

First of all, the author assumes that previous safety effort to lower the speed by 10 mph on all major roads has failed, stating that the accident rate in Prunty County “has decreased only slightly”. However, the measure was implemented only recently and, perhaps, there was not enough time to fully reinforce it. Even the fact that most drivers are exceeding the new speed limit could point out/on to a little awareness among the drivers regarding the new rules. Moreover, the decrease may seem minor as a number, but in the scope of the statistical model it might be significant.

Second, before any efforts regarding the highway safety could be suggested and implemented,(?) the thorough research must be conducted on the types and reasons of accidents in Prunty County and the outcomes should be summarized in the editorial. Based on these outcomes the road improvement projects could be suggested reflecting the current and local problems on the roads. The author omits any information regarding the situation on the highway giving us no ground to evaluate his suggestions.

Finally, the author assumes that road improvements undertaken in Butler County could be applied and lead to similar success in Prunty County. However, the author does not provide any proof that such an analogy could be valid. In order to consider and rely on other county experience, clear parallels of some relevant parameters must be depicted between two counties. For example, the driving population, the quality of roads, and the road size of the counties must be somewhat similar. For all we know from the editorial, the line width of the Prunty County could be already broad enough or the county has(had?) recently underwent the complete renewal of the roads, making the author's suggestion potently irrelevant.

Highway safety is a major concern and must be dealt with thoroughness and attention. However, the author does little to provide evidence that his suggestions will lead to any improvements, making the argument sound specious and unfounded.

The argument might have been strengthened by the detailed accidents report from Prunty County and Butler Count for the past several years and the overall description of the quality of roads, drivers density at the highways, and citizens complaints and desires regarding the highways reforms.