The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo Inc a chain of hobby shops Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon We discovered that th

This memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc. tries to get a new store of the company opened up in southeastern Griddlon by citing a study they did on the area residents. There are a number of questions that need to be answered before taking any further steps. The argument presented is rife with loopholes and doesn't present a cogent case for opening up a new store.

The memo claims that there are no hobby shops in southeastern Griddlon and 88 percent of those who responded would welcome the opening of a hobby shop. What kind of hobbies do these people like? Do they like the type of hobbies provided by the company? It could be the case that these residents like adventure sports but adventure sports might not be provided by the company. If people don't like the hobbies provided by the company, then there is no point in opening up a store in that area. Secondly, the author mentions that the hobby business has grown by 300 percent in the past decade in Grilldon. But this doesn't answer the question whether a similar growth will be there in southeastern Grilldon. Only if similar kind of growth is expected in the southeastern region as well, the company should consider opening its store in that area.

After that, it is mentioned that there is a large population of retirees in the area who have ample time to devote to hobbies. Do we expect them to pursue hobbies offered specifically by the company? It is big leap to expect that this demographic will be interested in the hobbies offered by the company. They might not want to spend their time pursuing hobbies offered by this company. Instead, they may want to spend time with their families or by pursuing some other hobby. Secondly, do they have the kind of opulence that is required to pursue hobbies at this chain? If the answer to these questions is affirmative, then this bolsters the argument made by the author of the memo.

However, there are some questions that need to be answered about the credibility of the survey as well. The author mentions that in the poll that was conducted by their team of researches concluded that 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of the hobby shop. However, the author doesn't mention how many of those responded to the survey. If a very small number of people actually responded to the survey then it makes no sense in investing in the southeastern Grilldon. If the author can information regarding this survey and the number is actually very large, only then should the company consider opening a store in that area.

Apart from all this, the author then predicts that the shop will see a steady stream for enthusiastic new customers. How does the author predict that? Was any survey done regarding the number of repeat customers? If the answer is negative to these questions, then the author's argument falls apart.

In order to surmise, there are a lot of open-ended questions that need to be answered before reaching any conclusion. The questions range from validity of the survey to the predictions made by the author. There are some places where the author has taken large leaps to reach a conclusion without any cogent argument. These questions ought to be answered in order to take any further decision.