The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. On the basis of this study, we recommend that businesses hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author propounds that any business firms which willing to hire new employees, should do it according to their number of sleeping hours during the night, and this number should be below six hours. For this conclusion, the writer lists different studies and their findings as rearing reasons; however, these reasons cannot be accepted as they stand. Actually, the rest on some promises all of which are skeptical and ambiguous; in addition, for verifying these reasons, the author should response some questions about the missing clues.

The first problem with the prompt is the study conducted in one advertising firms over 300 male and female. This study is shaky since there is no evidence about the type of examination and study since different types of studies require various equipment and methods. To verify this study as the valid reason for the final conclusion, the writer should answer which method of study is implemented in this research? Whether it was the observation based or the questioner based? For instance, if it is the observation based, how long do the cases are observed? Or what was the observation situation, is it direct or according to the thermal and sonic sensor? Or if the method was the questioning the samples, who comprehend was the questions? What technique is used for the evaluation of the samples’ responses? As listed above, different quarry should be answered to validified the conclusion that fewer than six hours of sleep leads to the success of that specific organization.

The second issue with the context is the second studies which sizing the various advertisement agents and their executives who depict the need of fewer than six hours of sleep per night causes the profit and flourishment of agents. Otherwise, these studies cannot be a reliable and accurate indicator of these successes in the financial aspect and growth. Indeed, any study is valid and reliable if the number of participated or considered case studies are sufficient and are comprehensive representor of the target population. For accepting this supporting reason, the author should answer some questions. For example, what was the number of considered case studies in the studies? Do they cover the general feature of the aimed public? There is the possibility that at these studies solely the male employees with the age range between the 20-30 years are considered; in this scenario, the youth energic of this category is not a lucid and complete illustration of all employees who are both male and female and ranged between the 20-60 years old. Thus, the discussed studies cannot be accepted until the listed questions are responded.

Finally, the author overgeneralized the finding of some studies focused on the advertisement firms to all types of the business and advises if they wishing the prosper, they should hire the executives with the need of fewer than six hours to sleep at night. This overventilation is not a logical way since the potential and requirements of the different activities and varied affairs differ from each other. For this reason, the writer should response that does those recommended organization possess the same working condition as the advertisement firms? Do those business look for the same working force as the advertisement firms? For example, there is the probability that works requires a night shift, for instance working in night-shift of pharmacy store, in this case, the sleeping hours during the night should be equal the zero. Furthermore, this recommendation is vague, since the writer mentioned to the word of prosper. What does he mean by this word? Since the prosper defines differently in the different realms, it could be a financial success or international reputation; both of which demands different working technique.

To wrap it up, the recommended advice cannot be accepted until the writer address the abovementioned questions.