The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. On the basis of this study, we recommend that businesses hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The article advocated that companies should employ executives who sleep no more than six hours on average, quoting a recent research of association between the amount of sleep and the company’s performation. In order to make this proposal valid, there are a few aspects the study need to further examination.

To begian with, although a connection is discovered in the study between the average numbers of hours they sleep and the success of their firms, however there is no proven correlation between these two. In order to prove this correlation true, the study needs to look into whehter all the companies studied are the same in all other criterias that will affect their productivities. There are many other factors that will influence a company’s growth and profits such as staff efficiency and product quality. It may be the execuctives who reported less sleep work for companies that sell more popular products. Therefore, the study needs to exclude all these other potential factors.

What is more, the study needs to investigate whether there were special type of promotional activities during the surved period of time, and the trend of the companies’ growth. The short length of sleep of executives from more successful companies may be because their reported sleep coincided at a time when their firms held advertising events, while the other executives reported a period when their companies’ agenda were less occupied. Also, the date reported is the average of sleeping length, so the company’s growth may have actually happened when the executives had longer rest; while, when their sleep time was shortened, the company’s growth slowed down.

In addition, although the study rated a sample of 300 executives, can the result be applied to a general practice? It may be possible that the correlaltion exists in the selected participants, however, a larger sample of a similar study will be very necessary to avoid overgenralizing the result and the implication.

In sum, the study is full of flaws, and as a result, the proposal of hiring people that sleep less is uniconving. To strengthen this and prove its validity, the abovementioned questions need to be investigaged.