The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. On the basis of this study, we recommend that businesses hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above article, the author argues that the business should hire only people who need less than six hours. The author supports his argument based on a recent study rating 300 male and female executives. However, before the author’s argument is fully evaluated three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, do sleep is the only factor to affects performance? In other words, is it possible to determine the performance of an executive based on a single component? Perhaps there are other factors, which are imperative factors for the enhanced performance of an executive. Maybe the work environment plays a significantly monumental role in a good performance. Perhaps the employee's office regulation is too strict to operate freely, then they may feel congested, and it can affect their performance. If sleep is an important factor to boost performance, then it may not be the same for everyone. Maybe some people operate more creatively if they sleep 8 hours. If anyone of the above scenarios is true, then the author’s argument holds no water.

Secondly, is it appropriate to evaluate some data based on small sample size? The author’s conclusion is based on a survey of 300 executives. Maybe the sample size is too small to evaluate a conclusion. Generalizing some facts based on only 300 people may not be a good strategy. There is a case, where not all executives reported correctly to the survey. Despite sleeping 6 hours at night, they may take certain power naps during office time, which they did not report at the time of the survey. On the other hand, the sample size is too small to evaluate a certain strategy. If any one of the above scenarios is true then the author’s argument is built unreliably.

In the conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can answer the three questions above and offer more evidence(perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that businesses hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep per night.