Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above memo, the author argues that health food and health-related products stores will be very lucrative in the town of Plainville. The author supports his proposal on the basis of the report that the people in the town are very much inclined towards maintaining good health. He further supports his argument on the basis of the number of members in the local health club, weight training, and aerobic classes. However, before evaluating the author’s argument, three unstated assumptions need to be evaluated.

Firstly, the author assumed that since people in the town of Plainville like to maintain a healthy lifestyle, thus they will visit the new stores more often since in the past the Nature’s way franchise was successful in the area like Plainville without any necessary evidence. The author uses his experience to predict and generalised the suture, there is a possibility that the people in the town may not visit the stores, since there are already plenty of stores, which sell healthy foods. Even if this is not the case, the people may not like the products of the stores. One can not predict something on the basis of previous success. If, any one of the above scenarios is true then, the author’s argument holds no water. The author does not provide any information about the town and about whether other health food seller franchise was already in the town or not. Without any veritable evidence, one can not predict the efficacy of the author’s assumptions.

Secondly, the author argues that the Nature’s Way franchise will be remunerative in the town on the basis of the people’s lifestyle and the number of members in the health clubs without any evidence. Perhaps the health clubs or aerobics classes already made them a diet plan, in which health supplements are not required. Maybe people in these towns prefer home-made food or vegetable to maintain a healthy lifestyle. If any one of the above scenarios is true then the author’s argument is seriously unwarranted. The author does not provide any further information to support his claim. If the author can offer more information, perhaps in the form of some systematic research study, then, a reader may have some clue about the author’s argument.

Thirdly, the author predicts that the Plainville’s school children are the future customer of their franchise, without any admissible evidence about the children. There is a possibility that most of the children will not be in the city when they grow up. Maybe they will be leaving for a different city for jobs or better education. There is a possibility that a recent study reveals that healthy food is not good for teenagers. Then parents’ of the children may not let their children get health supplements. The author provides no admissible information about the school children in the town. Perhaps if the author can provide some information in the form of a statistical chart of each of the student’s individual preferences for a healthy lifestyle then, the data may help a reader rectify the flaw and strengthen the argument.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unstated assumptions. If, the author is able to provide more evidence and clarify the three assumptions above, then, it is possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed assumption that the Nature’s way franchise will be remunerative in the town of Plainville.