In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above argument, the author argues that Prunty Country should implement the same tactics as the Butler Country implemented 5 years ago. The author supports his argument on the basis of the reports of declining accidents , because of previously implemented tactics, as widening road widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections . However, before evaluating the author’s argument, three unstated assumptions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author uses circumstances from one thing to determine and predict the others. Maybe the Prunty City roads and Butler City roads are not similar at all. There is a possibility that the roads in Butler City run through more rural area than the roads in the Prunty City. In this case, the traffic in the roads of Butler city is much abate than traffics in the roads of Prunty city. There is a possibility that roads in Prunty city are too short for widening. Then, the proposed recommendations can not be implemented on the roads of the Prunty City as the roads in the Butler City. Then one can not assumed the proposed recommendation about widening roads, will also work. The authors provides no admissible evidence to justify the conditions of the roads of the two different places, otherwise, If, any one of the above situation is true then, the author’s argument holds no water.

Secondly, the author argues about the failed implementation of plan without providing any necessitate evidence. The author provides no informations about the legitimacy of the report of highway patrol. Maybe people are unaware recently implemented law about decreasing speed limit. Even it is not the case, one can not compare the efficacy of two plans, which were implemented in two different times. In other word, the author compare the plan, which was implemented last year with the plan, which was implemented five years ago. Maybe there is a feasibility that at first the people also breached the some of the traffic laws in Butler city, but after facilitating strict traffic laws and proper punishments for exceeding speed limit , speeding and number of accidents were severely declined. The author did not offer any admissible evidence (perhaps in the form of systematic statistical charts ) about the traffic conditions of tw cities, otherwise, the author’s argument is built unreliably.

Thirdly, the author uses percentage to describe the efficacy of the law in the Butler City. Percentage is a tricky number, without the absolute number is given, one can not predict anything. Perhaps the number of accidents in the roads of Butler City was 4000 five years ago, then, past year the number of accidents was decreased to 3000 per year. But this number is considerably very high, but past year in the roads of the Prunty City, the number of accidents in the highways were 2000. Thus, predicting something on the basis of a percentage may not be that much of a warranted idea. Even if this is not the case, the proposed plan may fail to dwindle traffic in the recent future. There is no guarantee that if one plan worked previously, then it will be same effective in the future as past. If the author provides some admissible evidence, like statistical charts of the accidents over the past few years, then , a reader may have little bit elucidate concept about the author’s proposed recommendation, otherwise, if, any one of the above cases is true, then, the author argument is seriously unwarranted.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three assumptions above and offer more evidence, then , it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that Prunty County should undertake the same kind of road improvement project as Butler County.