In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presents a recommendation that Prunty County should adopt a similar strategy as Butler County, that involves increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. The reason provided for this recommendation is that the current policy adopted last year to reduce speed limits from 55 to 45 mph has not resulted in a decreased number of accidents. Stated in this way, the argument depends on a number of unsubstantiated assumptions, in absence of which it is not possible to evaluate the merits of the argument correctly.

First, the author's recommendation depends on an inherent assumption that the speed limit reduction adopted last year has not worked at all. It is entirely possible that the number of people owning cars has increased significantly since the last year. If this is the case, then the speed limit reduction imposed last year has worked well enough provided that despite the rise in the number of vehicles on the road, the number of accidents has not increased significantly. The statistical data for a number of accidents before reducing the speed limits, and throughout the year is required to assess the effects of the adopted strategy.

Second, the argument assumes that Butler County and Prunty County are one and the same in all the factors that may affect the number of accidents. Without evidence that the number of vehicles on the road, how often people drive, and the driving capabilities of the people in both the counties are the same, the comparison provided does not furnish a good reason to consider the proposed solution. Perhaps the road quality, visibility, and other improvements were necessary for the Butler County because of their poor earlier state, and in Prunty County, their conditions are good enough comparatively.

Third, it is stated that Butler County has reported 25% fewer accidents last year than five years ago. For all we know, the number of accidents was extremely high because of the poor road quality, or perhaps the weather that reduces the visibility. If the number of accidents before adopting the said policy were not proportionate to that of Prunty County, then it undermines the argument's reasoning significantly. Also, no data is provided for the number of accidents this year in Butler County. It is possible that despite the 25% decrease in the number of accidents last year, it is significantly higher than what we have in Prunty County.

In sum, the argument is dependent on a number of unsubstantiated facts, and assumptions. To further bolster the argument the author must provide the evidence for (1) the data before and after adopting respective strategies in both the counties, (2) the similarity of the factors contributing to the number of accidents, and (3) proper justification to prove that the road conditions in the Prunty County are not good enough to prevent the number of accidents.