In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented a case where the Prunty County attempted to improve their highway safet yby lowering the speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour. But that is certainly not working as the number of accidents has not decreased and drivers are frequently found execeeding the speed limit. So the argument concluded by stating that Prunty County should undertake the smae project as the Butler County as they have experienced a 25% reduce in the number of accidents compared to five years ago by keeping the same speed limit of 55 miles per hour. however, there are certain assumption which require more evidence to come to a conclusion. there are mainly to two assumptions.

Firstly, there is need for evidence which can help us to know if the highways of Prunty County are in any way comparable to the highways of Butler County. If the causes behind the number accidents in Prunty County is something different than the causes of accidents in Butler County then the comparison would make no sense. For instance, if there are a number of faulty traffic signals which are leading to accidents in Prunty County then increasing lane widths and other efforts would not help. If Prounty County is facing different problems than Butler County then applying the same solutions would not lead to any improvement.

Secondly, there is need for research to find out the reasons behind so many drivers exceeding the speed limit. For example, if the fine for overspeeding is currently less than the stated amount then that could be the reason for the carelessness of the drivers. Finding out the reason behind the drivers exceeding speed limit can be an important clue to find the root cause of the problem.

In conclusion, there is a need of certain amount of evidence to make a decision before starting the project used by the Butler County. If the Prunty County with the help of its highway patrol can come up with some evidence as to why the number of accidents is not reducing even after the necessary efforts taken and to support their decision, it would make it easy to come to the concludion.

Although, I agree to the reason for the given claim that it is stressful to discuss with people of the opposite views but in a way it is