The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company consisted of a recommendation to allocate a greater share of the budget for advertising so that the movies can reach to more number of people. The recommendation was backed with the fact that specific Super Screen movies during the past year, received a higher percentage of positive reviews. However, there is a need to answer some important questions before acting on the recommendation.

First and foremost, how many movies produced in the past one year have received a higher percentage of positive review? There might be a chance that only one specific movie has received a higher share of positive view and that has kind of skewed the data which has lead the marketing team to believe that all the movies are receiving better reviews. In that case, spending large amount on advertising all the movies and their reviews would not result in much change in the revenue. Instead, the production house can work on the content of the movies which might impress the people and help to increase the number of audience.

Secondly, Is there an availability of extra funds in the budget that can be allocated to advertising? The budgets of movie production companies are mostly packed with a lot of different expenses which need to be accounted for. For example, to increase the money spent on advertising the company might have to cut short the budget allocated to content or some other important aspect of movie making. This might lead to quality reduction of the movies which will surely end up with less viewership for those movies.

Hence, the recommendation as it stands cannot be acted upon immediately. There is a need for a detailed report for the viewership, increase or decrease in the number of positive reviews for every movie and not only specific movies to properly evaluate the problem of less people attending the Super Screen movies. Also, a need to carefully evaluate the budget and increase the budget share for advertising if need be.