The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The letter to the editor of a journal consisted an argument which suggested that the consumers should stop purchasing products made by the Crust Copper Company (CCC) as they are causing harm to the tropical nation of West Fredonia due to their minning activities resulting in pollution. West Fredonia has experienced environmental disasters which has lead to reduction of the number of endangered animal species in the nation. The evidence provided includes the fact that the company has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in West Fredonia. However, there are certain assumptions which need to confirmed before coming to any conclusion.

Firstly, there might be a chance that the environmental disasters experienced by the nation of West Fredonia are due to various reasons and not only because of the pollution caused by the minning activities. For instance, environmental hazards like flood, tsunami are more likely in places that are located near the large water bodies. Environmental hazards can occur due to various natural reasons which are not in human's control.

Secondly, refusing to buy the products made by the company would not stop people from buying products made of of copper in general. For example, if a certain brand stops making toys for children, parents would not stop buying toys but they would look for some other brand so that they can keep their children happy. Therefore, if CCC abandons its minning plans, what is stopping other copper manufacturing companies from buying the land in West Fredonia?

Also, there also might be the case that the CCC is planning to use the land to build a warehouse or storage area to store its raw materials or products. Then, there would not be any minning activities and no chance of pollution.

In conclusion, there is a need for a thorough research as to why are there environmental hazards and how the CCC plans to use the land that has been purchased. banning of consumers