Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

One might have heard of the saying that "Change is the only constant". Time never stops for anybody and with time there are certainly changes which are inevitable. While change can lead to progress but that is not necessarily true in all cases. Therefore, I disagree with the claim that in any field, the leaders or those in power should step down in five years for mainly two reasons.

First and foremost, great leaders who begin the revolution of positive changes need comparatively more amount of time to create a growing and sustainable society around them. If their longer vision seems to be satisfactory to majority of people, there is no need for them to step down after a certain amount of years. For instance, Narendra Modi, the Prime Minister of India continued his tenure after a successfull first four years as the Prime Minister of India. In such a way if a leader is not provided with support and time, expecting quick success is not the right way to proceed.

Secondly, frequent changes in the leadership role might lead to unstability. It is observed quite a few times that too many changes in a short amount of time worsen the condition rather than improving it. For example, a manager of football team plays a huge role in how well the team performs. Chelsea, a famous football club in the UK is known for sacking its managers as soon as things seem to go down the hill. As a result, recently they have been struggling to get good results after frequent changes in the managerial role. While changes might bring in a new zeal and a hint of positivity, frequent changes would not help in improving the condition everytime.

Although, the reson for the claim that in any field, the leaders or those in power should step down in five years might be true in some cases but it can not be stated that the surest path to success for any organization is by changing the leadership role after a certain amount of fixed years.

In conclusion, I believe that organizations and society have different scenarios and generalizing the amount time given to evry leadership would not be the right way to go about it. Those who believe that do that at their own peril.