The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College included a suggestion to build a number of new dormitories for students. The reasons listed in the memo included number of increasing enrollment, new dormitories would act as a unique selling point for prospective students and expensive off-campus housing. However, there is a need of a number of evidences to evaluate whether or not the recommendation should be considered.

To begin with, the director of student housing should provide a detailed record of the recent years of how the existing dormitory space is inadequate. For instance, if there have been a certain number of students who could not find a room for their own in the dormitory in the recent years. What is the number of such students and is it growing year by year? Is there some other reason why the students have found it difficult to find a room in the dormitory. There might be some ongoing construction work which would decrease the number of available rooms for students in the dormitory.

Secondly, rent prices have always tend to increase in recent years. If the director could provide the detailed cost difference between an apartment rent and the dormitory costs, it would be really helpful to analyse and make further decision.

Also, is there any evidence that the prospective students would find new dormitories as a reason to enroll at the Buckingham college? Is there any student reviews or feedback regarding the need of new student dormitories?

Finally, there is a need some evidence which would help to strengthen the recommendation of the director of student housing at the Buckingham College. A detailed student review or feedback where majority of the students agree to the fact that the college needs a number of new dormitory would be really helpful in making any further decision.