The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A wise person once said that if you want to make a guess about a country's future, you can do so by looking at that country's youth. In other words, young people are the future and they will be the leaders of tomorrow. Therfore, it is very important that they have all the necessary qualities like a growth mindset, a sense of cooperation and also a sense of competition. I disagree with the claim that the younger generation should be taught a sense of cooperation and not competition for the leadership roles in different fields of life for mainly two reasons.

First and foremost, competition is everywhere. Competition is an integral part of growing up for every person in this world. For example, as soon as we go to school, there is a competition for getting good grades. During the annual athletic events in school, there is competition for getting that precious gold medal in every event you participate. Competition is part of our life from the very beginning and it cannot be changed. By competing with our fellow mates we come to know about the shortcomings, mistakes of our own. By indentifying those limitation and by working on them, one can grow not only as a student but as an individual. Competition is necessary in one or the other way in every field of life.

Secondly, Leaders of a certain field always compete for that leadership spot. Generally, there is only one leader in every field. If the young people are not made aware of the fact that they will have to compete for that one spot with several other individuals then the younger generation would not be able to lead the society towards a better future. For instance, the leaders of the political parties who fight the elections for the majority of seats in the General Assembly usually compete amongst themselves. The strategies used by them also include throwing dirt on one another, criticizing their methods and even questioning their intentions. If the leader is not able to defend himself and his political party then he/she will surely not be able to become the leader. A sense of competition is necessary and an important quality for a leader.

Although, one cannot undermine the sense of cooperation. It is also one of the important characteristic of a leader. Given that a sense of competition is equally important if not more.

In conclusion, only by instilling a sense of cooperation and not competition would not be the right way to nurture the younger generation because at some point in their life they willl come across a situation where they find themselves competing with multiple people for a single opportunity.