The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores consisted a recommendation that discontinuing the stocking of many varieties of cheese would lead to less inventory cost as people are preferring domestic cheese over imported cheese. The memo also included the fact that the newest store of the store chain ranked the five best selling cheese and all those five were domestic cheeses. Also, a recent survey from the Cheeses of World magazine indicated increasing preference of domestic cheese among its subscriber. However, before acting on the recommendation there is a need of two specific evidences to decide if this would be the right choice or not.

First of all, in this era of Social Media, there is wave of trends that influences people's choice and liking towards certain products and services. But, all these trends don't last long. For example, during the covid lockdown, there was a rise in the popularity of Dalgona Coffee. Everyone would share their stories of how they enjoyed the dalgona coffee on social media which resulted in many people trying the Dalgona Coffee. But, it only lasted for a certain weeks and then no one was talking about it anymore. Similarly, the recent increasing preference towards domestic cheese might be for a short amount of time. There is a need for a detailed survey of the customers in order to know their opinion and preference about the cheese.

Secondly, the increasing preference for the domestic cheese might not be the case in all the stores of the chain. For instance, the region in which the new store is situated is the only region where domestic cheese has experienced a increase in demand. There is a need for a detailed research for recent months in chain of cheese stores to know the overall trend across all the stores and not only the latest one.

Also, People tend to avoid changes to things which are personal to them such as food. The bunch of people who use imported cheese on daily basis might not be going with the trend. Therfore, discontuing stocking of imported cheese might become the reason for not being able to fulfill the need for such customers.

In conclusion, there is a need for a detailed study or a survey about the customer preference over the last couple of months to know if the recent trend is going to stay or not. This would definitely help in making a data based decision which can be relied upon.