The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the memo concludes that they will improve profits by stacking domestic cheeses and discontinue imported ones in all their stores. However, that conclusion is based on a several number of inadequately unsupported assumptions. Without further information about store and customer preferences evidence and the effect of this on the general profits we can’t determine whether the author’s conclusion is valid.

To begin the argument, the author claims that in order to increase benefits they need to evaluate or survey the cheeses that sell the most. However that evidence relies on the assumption that one new store and the five best selling cheeses can give enough information for decision making in the future. Furthermore, the survey by Cheeses of World magazine states that there is an increasing preference for domestic cheeses. These are numerous factors that have not been taken into account. For example, claiming for selling mostly domestic cheddar cheeses at their newest store is not an indicator that this is true. Perhaps these chesses are on sale and cheaper and the income does not surpass the one from imported ones because they might be more expensive, even though sold in smaller amounts. Perhaps, this happens only in the new store and not in the others.

Another weakness is expecting an increase of profits and decision making based on a survey. The survey by Cheeses of World magazine states that there is an increasing preference for domestic cheeses. For instance, the subscribers of the magazine are preferring more domestic cheeses, but that does not mean that they do not like imported cheese. In addition, the memo does not show the number of the subscribers and the percentage they take in the USA population. On the other hand, if the author were to provide a more comprehensive list of percentages of cheese preferences than the claim of stacking domestic cheeses instead of imported ones would be more convincing.

Most strikingly, the memo assumes that the benefits might grow through cutting the expenses by limiting inventory. This is untenable. The author assumes that domestic cheeses do not need a full inventory. If that is the case, the claim of reducing expenses and increasing benefits comes into question. We do not have enough information on how the inventory expenses vary from domestic to imported cheeses. Furthermore we have no evidence that the stores will cut stacking imported cheeses.

This litany of unsupported assumptions seriously jeopardizes the certainty of the conclusion .The argument as it stands now is considerably flawed because is relying on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to argument the claims above and offer more evidence then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the recommendation of cutting the stacking of imported cheeses and going toward to more domestic cheeses will increase income.