The citizens of Forsythe have adopted healthier lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the healthiest citizens regularly eat.

In the memo from the health magazine it is stated that the citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful life styles. The supporters of this claim came to this conclusion based on the survey and the reported increase of some food products and the decrease in consuming some other ones. However before these arguments be properly evaluated three assumptions must be analyzed.

Firstly, the author presumes without concrete evidence, people are eating healthy following government nutritional recommendations. In other words, there was a survey which did not show the exact number of people surveyed and the number of foods included. Perhaps a few people are questioned. Further, the information does not clarify the percentage of increase in good foods consuming. Maybe they consume just a few of them and still eat unhealthy on the other side. If either of these surveys has merit the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the fourfold increase in sales of foods containing Kiron brings up the claim that citizens are eating healthier than before because ingredient lowers cholesterol. The supporters in the argument prematurely assume that there is an increase in sales of these foods. However, this might not the case. Perhaps only a few people are buying these foods compared with the rest which might be much more. In a perfect time all people might choose to consume these foods, but in reality they do not.

Thirdly, the claim states that there is a trend, evident in reduced sales of Sulia, a food that few healthy people eat. This adds up to the unreasoned assumptions that people are making healthier choices. This is not true. Perhaps they are buying more Kiron products but they are not buying sulia containing items.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to support the claims above and offer more evidence perhaps in the form of accurate information, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the statement that people are eating healthier than before.