The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The adviser of the client concludes that there will be an increased demand for heating oil in the following years and investments in consolidated industries are recommended.

However, that conclusion is based on a number of inadequately supported assumptions. Without further information, regarding some questions we do not have enough evidence to determine whether the advises are valid.

Firstly, are the Waymarsh’s University predictions accurate? Will the winter be longer than usual? The adviser in the argument,prematurely assumes that the following winters will be longer and residents will have to deal with a lack of oil. However this might not be the case.Perhaps, due to global warming winter may be short or milder. If a year is different, that does not mean the ones following will be colder as well.

Secondly, will the heating systems need major changes just for some more cold days?In other words, will for real the industry need to produce more oil and start operating businesses of oil retail? It is a possibility that the heating system can provide enough heat for the whole winter and no actions need to be taken. In addition, there is a possibility that oil companies just support customers for a longer time and make profits. If either of these scenarios has merit then conclusion drawn in the original advise is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the proposal as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unanswered questions. If the proposer clarifies that winters will be colder for the future and the present heating systems do not support completely peoples’ needs than would be necessary to invest in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.