While the Department of Education in the state of Attra suggests that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, we recommend that all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the suggestion from the Department of Education in the state of Attra, even though it is stated that they recommend high school students to get homework every day, the data opposes this as not effective . They have come to this conclusion based on the statewide survey. However, before these sugesstions can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, does not including teachers of other subjects count as a complete survey? In other words, does the rest of other subjects’ teachers have the same responses? Perhaps, the literacy educators or the English ones give homework and find it useful. Further, the students from the town of Marlee who get better results, got them in other subjects where they might still get five times weekly homework and not in math and science. If either of these scenarios has merit, then conclusion drown from the beginning is considerably weakened.

Secondly, does asking 86% of the teachers and not evaluating what the other percentage of teachers state, show enough evidence about the number of days assigned homework to students? There is no enough information that tells the amount of days that students get homework. For instance, some teachers might give homework, some not and some may declare it as optional and students may not do it.

Next, does the survey make it clear that the Marlee students who get better results are the ones that get less homework? Is 25 % enough to tell that the teachers in the town of Marlee give less homework? Perhaps 75 % of educators in this town give homework five times a week and the students get better grades. If there was accurate information then it would be better to jump on assumptions. Not knowing exactly days how often homework is given does not make an accurate connection with towns and grades they get.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now may easily be considered flawed due to its reliance on several unsupported assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence in the form of exact information then it will be possible to fully agree that less homework brings better grades for high school students.