The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Very often one finds himself or herself lost when it comes to understanding the contemporary culture. In fact, there are several ways to spot the trends and understand clearly the features of this culture. In order to recognize the wide variety of the characteristics of beliefs, values and themes one should analyze the trends of its youth. In my opinion, I partly agree with this suggestion and argue that each age contributes to the contemporary culture by shaping it and spreading it around the world for a few reasons.

To begin with, age is nothing. As we mentioned culture is belief, value and theme . Thus, the young generation can very well reflect and conduct these features, but all generations can do this on their own way. For example, there are many things that the youth gets from older generations and vice versa. Consequently, trends change due to globalization as well. In a family, some people move abroad, some live in the countryside, and some may choose to spend their life in a big city. They are like the puzzle pieces that when put together make the ‘big puzzle’ of culture.

Secondly, even that we assume that the new generation’s trends and nothing else are the contemporary culture indicators one has to analyze many like politics, religion, economy, etc. There is a broad amount of branches to be taken into account. For example X country may have a very good economy but the architecture does not show a great progress. Italy, Rome is the opposite of X because architecture, art, and religion offer a pretty good understanding of culture trends. Analyzing culture is looking through time, because time is what it takes to have a set of features that makes each culture identifiable

Of course, some argue that youth carries on with the culture, but they forget that all generations are part of it and time and globalization are key factors. One cannot ignore these because it is like thinking as culture is a ‘tree’ and considering only the branches, the youth and ignoring the roots and everything else. Contemporary culture shows the present, but is like a flowing river that never ends.