College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Choosing the field of one’s studies is an important decision to make in one’s life. In fact, one has to compare and contrast many factors until coming to making up their mind. The prompt recommends that students should consider the availability of jobs on the field they choose. In my opinion, I disagree with this suggestion and argue that students should choose what they like first and then what carries premises to find a job in the future. This can be explained for a couple of reasons.

Firstly, when choosing a field of study, one is long term thinking and this makes it very decisive for his/her future. Thus, this big choice should be something favorite and pleasant to do. For example, some people choose what they will study for since they are young after getting inspired in different ways. For example, some like to become teachers, after spending with them many years and some others like to be astronauts because space attracts them. However, they might change their mind due to job availabilities, but still choosing something they are found of to pursue. Consequently, it is not easy to change the field of studies halfway or completely from the beginning because its time and effort consuming.

Further, even if we assume that choosing something we like is not important and time might shift the way different jobs stand compared to each other, one should still pursue his/her dreams and study something that lights up inside them. Research has shown that people that followed their heart had better experiences in their life regarding their work history and job experiences. In other words, it is helpful sticking to one’s dreams and passions because is rewarding. Thus, our parents who chose to be teachers or doctors earned maybe not so much money ,but they are respected and satisfied for what they have done.

Lastly, some argue that in our increasingly globalized economy choosing the highest rated fields of study is very present lately and students might make regrettable choices thus, it is very imperative to look inside oneself. If they do so, they are likely to succeed and get a nice job due to skills and passion about that job.