College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

As the professional world tends to spiral in a direction of uncertainity, a good consideration for a college major is key to having a fulfiling career to most young adults. A major key factor a student needs to consider is the availability of jobs within the field they are interested in delving into. This is a crucial decison as it would affect their total net productivity, health and finances both now and later on in their careers.

In recent times, automation has threatened many jobs and the trend doesn't seem to be going away anytime soon. Based off this, it is tantamount that students should take time out to carefully study the industry and job market. This should help them align themselves to a fulfilling career. Studies have shown that evry year, due to the innovations in software, new, unheard job opportunities, that weren't heard of in the past decades are now springing up and becoming more popular. A careful research into current industry trends should infrorm students properly.

Although its arguable that some specific job roles are transient, and even though they are new would soon go extinct, it is also important for such students to focus on majoring on a field that provides them with enough background information. Knowing the background helps keep them realevant in the industry for longer and helps them to change jobs easier down the line. A good example is majoring in software engineering, as it gives the student a broader knowledge base, as opposed to majoring in 1 specific programming language which can be less popular in future years. With programs like accelerators and bootcamps, students can gain more knowledge about the industry and make right career paths early enough.

Furthermore, from a finacial standpoint, setting ones self up for suceess based on availability of jobs in a field is a smart financial move. It is also encouraging to know that one can still be passionate about any field one finally chooses, because at the end of the day, a job remains a job. Passion is built over time and can only be sustained when you have a job and a career to be passionate about.

In conclusion, students need to make right career decisions and a deep careful consideration of the current industry is very important. Visiting a career coach, attending industry events and speaking to industry experts can help them make this choice easier. But overall, its a very important decision and shouldn't be taken lightly.