A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food- processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty- year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Salicylates, as mentioned seem to be an overall useful medication and altrnative to current aspirins since they contain the same chemical families. The writer has presented some intresting research results and an intresting prediction of the future. However, to validate this prediction, we need to examine the facts presented around the participants, as well as the processes, and other ingredients involved in the processing of future meals.

Firstly, a more elaborate look needs to be taken into demographics of the participants. There wasn't any information around the age, fitness levels, job types and health levels of these participants. A 20-year span is a really long period, so, were the participants who started the survey the same as those who are part of the survey now? And would that dataset be congruient in the future? Hw was this data collected? The writer mentioned that they were reported. Basing strictly on reported data alone might be flawed becasue data that wasn't reported never gets captured. Without taking these into consideration, one cannot be sure of the writer's future predictions.

Secondly, to ensure that the writer's prediction holds water, one would need to consider some other factors. One which stands out are the food choices of the participating candidates. It is arguable, unless stated, that their meals might not contain the said ingredient, Salicylates. The participants due to their lifestyle choices might have considered other food choices and since there wasn't any mention, insight or consideration on this, the furture prediction of the writer seems flawed.

Furthermore, in general, processed food has always been known not to be a healthy choice. Hence, looking forward towards the future, the writer needs to address the components of future food-processing. The writer would need to crucially examine the components of what these future processed food would contain. The writer also needs to perfom adequate research and give strong results around the effects and consequences of mixing salicylates and other ingredients and if this mix would still guarantee its potency.

In conclusion, the writer has done a good job of presenting the therapautic effect of salicylates and how its addition to food processing has been positively rewarding, however, the writer needs to present more data around the participants and address the concerns around the ingredients of future foods to make a more solid argument for the postulated future predictions.