Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy. Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented

Who is a teacher? A teacher is one who passes knowledge, either theoretical or practical to another. In most cases, especially in a formal setting, teachers usually have a form of accreditation to prove that they are in a position to relay information in such field. Amongst other qualities, teachers are expected to have an indept understanding of the subject matter and empathy for the students they are passing the information to. However, in the highly competitive times we are in, to get the best out of every student, a teacher should be rigorous and demanding in their goals and expectations for their students.

A proverb states thus : "Aim for the skies, if you don't reach it, at least, you'll fall amongst the stars". Bearing this in mind, the best attributes to instill into students during their developmental phases should include: attention to details, the importance of high quality outputs, discipline, consistency, hardwork and above all, tenacity. To achieve this, a teacher must be willing to go all in and demand the best and only the best from each student. Fostering a high quality environment from a young age helps these students be better at work, business and life in general after completing their studies. Even from a personal experience, I am always more grateful for the techers that were a little harder on me while in school, because, they helped me stay in line and become a better adult.

Furthermore, students learn a lot from what they see and who they interact with. Before the 2020 wave of COVID, that has taken a large percentage of schools online, students usually spent a large chunk of their time at school. Hence, if the teachers aren't good enough to look up to, the students would find other places to get inspiration from. Teachers themselves are role models are expected to be meticulous and constantly raising the standards. This means higher expectations for themslves as role models and would definetly inspire the students to follow suit.

In contrast, it is worthy to note that not all students are the same or have the same threshold for high levels of rigour. This then becomes a soft spot where each teacher needs to understand their students and apply their soft skills of empathy. That means, for students who can't handle the pressure, the teachers find ways to bring them up to speed, or lower the expectations just a little bit. Such students require more encouragement, patience and hand-holding for the to do as much as other highflyers. That said, empathy is a key factor even when trying to set high standards for the students.

In summary, as schooling has become a necessary phase during the developmental phases of humans, it is ideal to give them the most important life skills, even if they aren't the easiest to imbibe. Teachers should be more rigorous and demanding in their expectations from students, as they also make sure they keep these high standards so as to qualify as ideal role models for the students. This in turn would ensure that the students turn out to be better adults at their work places, businesses and the society at large.