Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as residents of buildings without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are reporting that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate several aspects of their own health (e.g., fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.). The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The presented argument about the link between health and stair usuage sounds very logical based on the available datasets. The writer has done a good job of compiling research studies as well as going as far as getting data from questionnaires. However, there are a couple of alternative reason to why the links occur which the writer assumed wrongly about. Although the overall argument remains the same, an alternate viewpoint to reach the same conclusion would be presented below.

Firstly, considering the premier study on the longevity of people who stay in stairs-only apartment buildings compared to those who stay in buildings with both elevators and stairs, there isn't any data to show what floors these users were. It won't make any difference if they were on the ground floor because they would never need to use the stairs even if it was available. In addition to that, there isn't any available records around other factors that could increase the longevity of humans. Things like food intake, enviromental security, mental health, access to social and medical amenities. Infact, it can be argued that most stairs-only apartment buildings are older buildings - that were built before the adoption of elevator technology - and would most likely be located in low brow, non-secure or non-urban areas, thereby reducing the lifespan of the residents of such buildings.

Secondly, an important keyword on the second research study is 'elderly'. It is common knowledge that elderly people are more prone to hospital visits. The availblilty of staircases or not should not be the basis of their hospital visits because more elderly people would visit hospitals anyways. One can also argue that elderly people who visit the hospital more was because it was easier for them to be assisted to the hospital because of the presence of elevators. Also, the writer could have done a more comprehensive research on the elderly residents to account for their age, health status, approximate networth and availability of assistance. This would have given more insight to the reasons why they had/needed to make those doctor visits.

Lastly, for the last the reports from 'new patients', the writer indicated that it was a self-assessment. When it comes to medical records, it can be argued that a self-assessment might not give the full picture. The data would be more acceptable if it were the doctors that assessed them by. There was no indication of the age bracket of these 'new patients'. It is worthy to note as well that 'new patients' tend to be helthier than return patients, hence, the kind of apartment that they live cannot be the only indicator to account for their fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.

In conclusion, even though the overall argument of the writer that states that moderate daily excercises increases people's health and longevity is very valid, a thorough research considering things like age, income level, what specific floor the users were on, number of daily steps, amongst others, would have helped solidify the argument against any possible hole-poking.