Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than do people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildings without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are reporting that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate several aspects of their own health (e.g., fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.). The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The article shows a link between health and stair use. The author believes that more stair use will lead to a more healthy life. however, the author does not recognize all essential elements that could evaluate its own position. The conclusion can be explained by some other more convincible explanations.

Firstly, people who are more healthy certainly like to live in stairs-only apartment, becasuse they think it is good for them to go stairs everyday, they may seem such activity as exercises. On the contrary, people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs could be sick alreday. that's why the people who live in stairs-only buildings live an average of three years longer. The author may mistake the casual relationship and wrongly draw the conclusion.

such explanation could also help tp explicate the second phenomenon, that is people who live in staris-only apartment visits to doctors for fewer times. only sick old people will choose apartments with elevators, they will surely go to the hospital more frequently because of their own healthy problems. When we consider further, if we find that some unhealthy elder people still choose stairs-only buildings, the only reason is that they are poor in economic and cannot afford the fee of visiting to the doctors.

Finally, we can use placebo effect to explain why residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on several aspects of their own health. those who have chosen no elevators buildings are more possibly believe they get more exercises than other people, thus they adduce that they are more healthy. it is not seldom, after all many people, even if those residents without elevators in their apartments, are not willing to admit their physical condition is bad. But that not might be the case, on the one hand, stairs-only apartments are lower, normally five to six floors, the amount of exercising is not as much as they imaged, especially for residents of one to three floors. On the other hand, people live in apartments with elevators may spend more time on exercising because they may worry about insufficient exercises. after all, they have cars or bus for transportation and elevators for going back home. it is more possible for them to take part in exercising during their rest time. if we want to know two groups of residents further, which means the concrete healthy indicators of residents live in stairs-only apartments and apartments with elevators, the best way is through hosipital's examination rather than asking residents themselves directly.

All in all, the author ingnores several more reasonable explanations and make his or her own assertion. however, such assertion could be easily negatived and we still need to find more information and try to find the real reasonable reason for such situation.