To understand the most important characteristics of a society one must study its major cities

While some people believe that in order to understand the most important characteristics of a society, we must study its major cities, others believe that we can study a society by investigating some other cities or even countries. In my own view, both of them are reasonable, we should not only study major cities, but also, we should pay attention to some minor cities.

That is rational to study major cities, for a society, a major city like its capital can determine the value, the culture and the economics of the whole nation. We should recognize that major cities have more funds from governments in order to develop them, thus the economics should be the best all over the nation. So, the economics environments of major cities can reflect the ideal situation, from this, we can adduce a society’s plan of developing economics. Besides, economics, the culture is mainly influenced major cities, with a better economic environment, people will surely have more time and more money to define their own culture, major cities’ people can touch new things and new mind earlier, which can help them shape their own main culture. For most of minor cities or countries, the people of them are just simulating the main culture of major cities. Finally, after shaping a main culture, the value of people will also be recognized.

The major cities are also the head of a nation. Especially capitals, the leader of the nation lives in capitals, and most of policies are made and sent to other cities from capitals. The capitals can determine whether a country could work properly. If we study the development processes of a capital, we can find that how a country develops and thus we can predict a country’s future. Because if people did not take efforts in major cities like capitals, there is less possibility for them to consider other cities. The major cities can demonstrate the attitude of a society.

However, studying major cities does not mean minor cities or countries are not important, we all know that besides main culture, there are still many kinds of subcultures and different economic environments. Especially in a large country like China and America, these large countries have large areas and many different cultures. If we want to evaluate the characteristics of a society, we cannot ignore these aspects. When things come to the economics, that is the same. In China, for example, Shanghai and Beijing are two of major cities, they both have the best economic environments, the people in these two cities have a better salary and have more chances to take part in social activities. But such case is not universal in China. In the northeast or northwest of China, there are lots of poor people, their salary is less than half of major cities’ people. When we are focus on major cities, we still need to pay attention to minor cities, for major cities’ prosperity is not common.

All in all, that is not wrong for us to understand the characteristics of a society by studying major cities. On the contrary, we can get basic characteristics of a society immediately by this way. However, we should not only concentrate on major cities like I have discussed above, we should also pay attention to minor cities and countries in order to get a complete characteristics of the society. Only in this way, we can truly make it clear that how a society works and develops.