True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.

The author asserts that true success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals setted by oneself. I cound not agree with the author anymore. For that only achieve one's own goals, one can be called successful.

Many famous people become successful by achieving their own goals. In this process, people should keep on learning and be dilligent in order to be able to accomplish the goals. it is not an easy task to realize them, so, such accomplishment not only can satisfy themselves, but also can entice more people to chase their own dreams. this is the real success, therefore, goals are the only standard to evaluate one's success. Abraham Lincon was a normal person at first without any background and wealth, he entered the politic field just by studying and hard-working. finally he became the president of America, this is his success. elon musk said that he wanted to form an electronic cars company, then the company was founded and has developed well, this is his success. Manhattan Project was designed for making nuclear bomb, after several years' investigation, Oppenheimer and other scientists finally made it, this is their success.

if we do not use goals as standard, we cannot find some other more persuasive standards. some people may think hard-working or dilligent can demonstrate one's success, while others may believe that wealth can determine one's success. however, in my own view, such opinions are too narrow to evaluate a person. Hard-working and dilligent are certainly virtues of a person, nevertheless, they can never measure one's success, casue there are lots of people being dilligent. The number of people being anxiety in today has shown that there are so many people are trying their best but winning nothing at last. if hard-wroking and dilligent euqal to success, then succes is too cheap, just like give every athletes a gold medal. The wealth is not useful in such case, even though be wealthy is the dream for most people, but it is not pervasive. some people are wealthy becasue they born with it, the familiy background make them have more money than others. if they want to prove they are successful, then they need to make more money or achieve more out of wealth. For example, Trump makes more money by his own talents than his parents and become president in 2018, this is success. In sum, we judge one's success by achieveing their own goals but not wealth. In the same way, one's fame, honor or some characters like modest, friendly, genrous could not be the standard, unless they set these points as their own goals and achieve them.

Last but not the least, somebody holds that minor goals cannot be treated as success. however, we should recognize that every great goal is made of countless minor goals. For every person, they just finish minor goals everyday, but one day, these minor goals will drive us to the final great goal. we can say that without these minor goals, no great goal can be achieved. if a person just graduates from university without any backgrounds, for instance, and wants to achieve financial freedom, the first step is to find a work. if a girl wants to lose weight, the first step is to lose one pound. it is also effective for a company or organization, elon musk wants to repalce traditional cars with electronic cars, the first step is to produce the Roadster for wealthy people, then produce some advanced cars, finally produce cars for normal people.

All in all, the best way to evaluate one's success is by setting one's goals. only in this way, we can have a concise and convenient method to assess one's life.