The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century old tradition of all female education and begin admitting men Pointing to other all female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducatio

In order to keep the college all female the director of the alumnae association gives several relatively sound reasons. However, in my opinion, the director still needs to answer several questions that could totally negate these reasons, or it is not necessary to worry about some bad results of coeducation.

The director believe that the surveys of students are effective, the results show that students choose the Grove College primarily because of all-female status. However, there is a question that could attack the surveys. We do not know the concrete numbers of students that were surveyed and how many students hold the position above. For example, if the college recruits 1000 students every year, and 100 students are interviewed and only 10 students hold the position. Then the survey is not convincible, the survey could not reflect the mind of all students. Besides this, we still need to know whether questions in the survey objective are, they may lead students to say that they choose the college because of all-female education by asking like “what do you think of all-female education”. In such case, students may not tell the truth. In order to answer the question, the director should offer more information about the surveys.

In addition, the director seems to believe that all-female education is essential to the very identity of the college, and the college should keep such tradition. But the question here is whether such traditional education mode is really benefit for students and is worth to keeping? We should recognize that when students choose a school, the first thing they consider is education quality, like some famous teachers, higher employment, better teaching environments and so on. The alumnae association thinks that the all-female education is the very identity that could help to attract students, that is unreasonable. The director should provide more strong evidence that could show today’s students still believe that all-female education could attract them.

Last but not the least, the director also mentions a survey of Grove alumnae, and the director says that majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all females. The survey is more problematic than the surveys former. For the survey here just show the attitudes of respondents, that means there are still some people do not respond. If the survey only reflects the respondents’ mind, then it is totally not trustworthy. We should know that only the one who support the director would like to answer the survey and be one of respondents. So, the director should also take a survey about how many alumnae answer the survey, if there only a small part of them answers the questions, then the survey is invalid. Then the director should also make it clear that how the people that do not respond think about the coeducation. Only answer these questions, we can figure out the alumnae association’s real mind.

All in all, the director tries to keep the tradition of all-female education, and some seemingly persuasive reasons are rendered. However, they are problematic and can be toppled by the questions above. If one of the reasons is wrong, then the director cannot persuade others, not to mention all of them could be wrong. The director should think more and try to answer the questions in order to keep the all-female education.