The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten year budget for the city of Calatrava The birthrate in our city is declining in fact last year s birthrate was only one half that of five years ago Thus the number of students enroll

The committee’s recommendation is relatively sound, at first glance. However, in my opinion, the committee failed to recognize all essential elements in order to evaluate his or her own position. We still need more evidence in order to prove the phenomenon mentioned in the argument.

Firstly, the author says that the birthrate is declining in last five years. But we still need more information about this point, for we should make it clear that whether this decrease is severe. If the birthrate is 3% in five years ago, for example, and it is 2.5% now, even though it has declined but that is not a big problem. So, if the birthrate does not decline a lot, that is unreasonable to adduce that the number of students enrolled in schools will decrease dramatically. The number could decrease, but it is not significant enough to make governments take actions to respond it. Only the birthrate has decreased a lot to 1% or even less, the argument could be correct. The author should offer more information about this, or the author can take a survey to clarify this point.

Besides, even if the number of students decrease dramatically, we still need evidence that can help us to conclude that it is safe to reduce educational funds. We should acknowledge that governments should have a rational funds budget for every part like education, residents’ welfare, development and so on. Reallocating the funds from education to other parts may lead to a bad ending. We can never predict the next year’s situation; the governments should reserve some funds in order to prevent emergency events. Although the events could never happen, the governments still could use these funds enhance the quality of the education. Governments could upgrade hardware of schools, buy more books for students, offer a better fellowship, or hire more famous teachers. We cannot just remove these funds because of possible less students. If the committee wants to persuade more to believe in the recommendation, stronger evidence must be presented.

Like we have talked above, the committee says that governments can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities is also problematic. If the funds for these parts are reduced, on the one hand, the children will have less places to relax and have fun with their friends, they may get a bad mood and cannot get a happy childhood, that could be terrible for their whole life. On the other hand, without enough funds to maintain existed fields, children are easier to get hurt. The committee should reconsider this point and provide more evidence to hold on the position.

Last but not the least, why the governments have to save money from education to fund city facilities and programs used by adults. If the city funds more to children, the parents would also be attracted by the city. The committee seems to believe that more adults could reverse the birthrate’s decline, however, does not the city have enough adults now? The committee should think about this question, if there are enough adults then why they do not give birth to children anymore. The author should take more surveys and provide more evidence that could prove that the recommendation is useful and could lead to a higher birthrate.

We must admit that the author tries to solve the problem of birthrate, but the recommendation is tenuous and can be toppled easily. The author should reconsider the recommendation and do some survey, if necessary, in order to collect more data that can determine its end.