Claim In any situation the best way to persuade other people is to present them with facts and statistics rather than with emotional arguments Reason Facts are objective so they are more persuasive than subjective appeals

The claim that the best way to persuade other people is to present them with facts and statistics rather than with emotional arguments is a compelling one. After all, the most rational method to present one’s view is using facts and statistics, that is a scientific measure. The claim is also adaptable to our daily lives in most time.

Firstly, this is true in many fields like science, politic and economic. In science research, especially in experiments subject like chemistry, biology and physics, researchers need to design lot of surveys and research in order to get enough data, thus they can analyze the data and find the potential reasonable results. Only in this way, they can persuade others and pass the peer review. When governments making new policies, they will not apply it to all areas immediately, most of policies are tested in some areas called experimental zone, and governments will collect the respond of policies and then decide whether policies should be changed or can be widely used. The governments need these data in order to persuade others that policies are effective. When it comes to economic, the effect of facts and data is more significant, no matter governments or people utilize former economic environments’ statistics to anticipate future. By this way, people can make their choices to make more money; the governments can regulate markets and help to maintain a healthy economic environment. Without enough facts and statistics, everyone could not even cheat a child.

Besides this, the reason given by the title has shown one of advantages of using facts and statistics. Facts are mostly objective, and they are more persuasive. Facts and statistics are objective in most time, and they are more persuasive than subjective appeals. Everyone has his or her own emotions. If a person is emotional, then everyone could suspect whether he or she could be rational enough to make a right choice or decision when facing a dilemma, then the person is less likely to make others believe in him or her. We should recognize that people who can keep calm at any time are more easily solving the questions or problems in a better way. But we do not worry about facts, facts are facts, they cannot be changed by any people, they are more trustworthy and more convincible.

However, sometimes we cannot trust the facts blindly. The facts could be true, but they may not be shown completely. If someone just demonstrate the part of facts and hide other parts on purpose, then even the facts are objective, we still could be cheated. Last century, Hitler cheated Germans people that Jewish were guilty of the failure of the Great War, he said that if the Jewish did not corrosive the country and enlisted to fight against the enemies, they will get victory at last. However, he ignored lots of soldiers were Jewish and then cheated Germans to expel and persecution them from 1936. Besides this, there are lots of plagiarize events these years in scientific research. Many papers just present the best results that can hardly be reproduced and draw a firmly conclusion. They certainly get the results and facts, but they selectively demonstrate them which can mislead the research direction and researchers.

All in all, on the one hand, using facts to persuade others and show one’s position is certainly the most effective one. On the other hand, we still need to pay attention that the facts and data or statistics are complete without any modifications.