In an effort to improve our employees’ productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees’ Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees’ Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits.

While the advent of technology apps have been helpful for tracking, monitoring and other productivity engancements, the writer's argument have a couple of holes that do not make it totally valid and agreeable.

The first assumption here is that employees who use the internet from their work station need to be punished. This is very easy to by-pass as internet-enabled recreational devices are not limited to workstations anymore. The employees could fulfil their pass time from their phones or their internet-enabled televisions and not necessarily use the workstations. This way, the goal of the writer would not be achieved. A better solution would be to track the employees' work output with tools like JIRA, Notion, etc. This way, work is focused on their productivity and not on what they choose to do in their spare time or when they are done with their assigned tasks.

Secondly, the writer assumes that his/her above suggestions would foster a better work ethic. One can strongly argue that work ethic is usually fostered better when the company has a clear goal and vision that the employees both buy into and are given the right tools and resources to achieve. Tracking employees' work hours and punishing them might again not be sufficient for fostering work ethics. Work ethics can be fostered better, for instance, by having physical meetups, assigning each lower cadre employee to a senior mentor, reiterating the company goals, amongst others. The writer makes no mention of such activities or data around that - and except the writer does, the argument is flawed.

Furthermore, the writer assumes that the overall profit at Climpson is directly related to the employees' internet use. This does not hold water because there is no data or information on what kind of product that Climpson creates or sells. What if the problem from Climpson having an obsolete or no-market friendly product? What if the only employees that work from home are the customer repreentatives who are there to only receive and give product feedback. This is in no way directly linked to the overall profit of the company and so, except the writer gives more insight to what products Climpson sells or data that ties employees' productivity directly to profits from past years, then, this argument isn't cogent.

In conclusion, more data needs to be provided by the writer in order to make a better case for the comapny to invest in internet monitoring devices. Other avenues for increasing productivity and fostering work ethics should be explored before making a decision that might end up not solving Climpson's employees and profit issues.