Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no special knowledge of the

following topic.

Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines.

Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

Vaccination (also known as immunisation) is the process of giving a child preventive medication against some diseases which can affect them in their childhood and span all through their lives. Children can be made immune to diseases like measles and polio from an early age so that they won’t grow up to be inflicted by the horrors of having these diseases. In view of this, parents need to be properly informed and held accountable for their children’s future health. A good way to make parents make this process top priority is for the government make laws that punishes neglect towards immunisation.

Most immunisations are taken in doses over a period of time, for example, polio immunisation is first given as early as a child’s 3rd month after birth and then also given in the 6th month, 1st year, 3rd year and 6th year after birth. Arguably, parents can indeed become overwhelmed with work and neglect or overlook subsequent appointments, however, government putting it into law would make parents more willing to take their children for vaccination, to at least, avoid the wrath of the law.

Research has shown that a large percentage of adults in Africa are disabled due to polio and malaria fever is one of the top causes of increase in mortality rates with the same region. These adults have not reached their full potential and are more of a liability than an asset to the society. With government laws in place to enforce vaccination, such ailments would be drastically reduced or even totally eliminated from a young age. When mortality rates decrease, the society is more productive and less is spent on healthcare.

To conclude, if the decision to vaccinate young children completely lies in the hands of the parents, they might misuse it. The government therefore has to make it a priority to enforce vaccination laws so that the general public remains healthy and death rates from these preventable ailments drastically reduced or altogether eliminated