A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Structure is very important in the fabrics of the human existence. Such structure can be learn and applied to students starting from a young age till maturity. Exposure to the same curriculum puts a form of structure and level playing ground in the learning processes of students. This strongly indicates that it makes sense to expose all students from the same nation to the the same curriculum until they enter college. Below are two common circumstances where having a structed and similar curriculum for students poses useful.

Firstly, evaluation for students interested in pursuing a college degree is standardized. In my home country of Nigeria, we have a national exam that students interested in college takes - its called UTME (University Test Matriculation Exam). This helps colleges have a feel of the intelletual capability of each student. The result from this exam can be used to apply to any college of one's choice. If a student, for example has been taught with a different curriculm, it is harder to evaluate their intellectual capability. This is a huge advantage for both the colleges and the students as no one has to worry about the differences in examination structure for different schools or writing multiple entrance examinations in order to further their studies in college.

Secondly, transfer of students between schools is easier. Imagine a family has to migrate from one part of a country to another part of the same country, this means the children would most likely have to change schools. Or if for example, a parent would like to send his/her child to anotter location for boarding school. In the above mentioned scenarios, it is less of a hassle for every party involved (the schools, the parents and the students themselves) to have a seamless transfer process. This is a great advantage because the curriculum is the same across the nation. The schools can easily send the transcript of the students over to the new school and the new school can easily evaluate the student and know the exact grade to put them. For the student as well, they won't be mentally dragged with having to adapt the the content since it is still in line with what they were used to.

In conclusion, some people would argue that sometimes, nations can be big and have a wide range of ethnicities and so the curriculums should be streamlined to each location. But the disadvantages to these are numerous for all parties involved. Structure should take presidence in learning and as long as a nation is constitutionally bound, it is of more advantage for students to maintain the same curriculum across the nation till they enter college.