The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper.

Industry analysts report that the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade. Also, recent innovations in milking technology make it possible for farmers to significantly increase the efficiency of the milking process, allowing them to collect more milk in less time with minimal human intervention. In fact, data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture indicate that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms are actually lower now than they were ten years ago. Despite increased efficiency and lower labor costs, a carton of cream — a dairy product made from milk — at the local food market costs twice as much as it did two years ago. The only explanation for this dramatic price increase is that farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Breaking down this editors' writeup, it analyses different issues and possibilities for the genral increase of dairy products. Although they have been logically well stated, it is tantamount to explore other plausible reason why prices of dairy products would have been inflated. This write up seeks to explore alternative possibilities for these price changes.

Firstly, as regards the technolgy innovation, it makes sense that farmers' time has been significantly saved during the milking process, however, the writer never discusses the cost of these technological innovations. Such devices might be expensive to purchase and maintain, making sure that the farmers add a markup cost while producing each unit of milk. So, although labor cost has reduced, there wasn't ay data around the technological costs. This could be a plausible reason for general incresed rices of dairy products

Secondly, it is common knowledge that most farms are in rural areas and the farmers extract just the raw milk from cows. These raw products are then transferred to factories that further process them and convert them to usable 'cartons' of cream. That said, it is very possible that extra cost of production has been factored into the price by the time it gets to the food market. Hidden costs like the cost for transportation, cost for the factory workers, cost for the other ingridients added to the milk to make it human-friendly, secret-recepies, branding, amongst others can further account for the increase in price between the farm and the local market. It is worthy to note that the farmers are most likely not in control of this final price as they only produce the raw material.

Thirdly, based on the population cencus, there are more people on earth than there were 10 years ago. Although it was never stated, it remains a possibility that the Relannian community also grew significantly. To producs enough milk to keep up with the skyrocketing population, more cows would have needed to be reared and therefore, more human labor employed. This means equivocally that even though the cost of labor reduced, the total amount of individual labor needs have increased, hence, might be costing more invariably to produce dairy products.

In conclusion, items cost more in the market now than they did 10 years ago - thanks to the powerful invincible hands of inflation. The market's general inflation pushes prices of all products upwards. This, coupled with other reason as stated above are alternative explanations for the observed price increase of dairy products in the Relannian community.