The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper. Industry analysts report that the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade. Also, recent innovations in milking technology make it possible for farmers to significantly increase the efficiency of the milking process, allowing them to collect more milk in less time with minimal human intervention. In fact, data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture indicate that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms are actually lower now than they were ten years ago. Despite increased efficiency and lower labor costs, a carton of cream — a dairy product made from milk — at the local food market costs twice as much as it did two years ago. The only explanation for this dramatic price increase is that farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Although, a surface analysis of the argument may seem cogent and thus justify the conc lusion made in the Relannian newspaper, a deep look at the argument suggests otherwise especially as it lacks evidence to substantiate certain assumptions in which the arguments are premised. The author of the letter cites a report and data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture as authority in arriving at this conclusion but the arguments lack evidence to support its claim and currently the recommendation amounts to a particularly poor one unless certain questions are adequately answered.

First, the author cites an industry analysts report that suggests that dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade, providing little information on the methodology used to carry out this analysis. Who where the correspondences in the research, what were the sources of the data used, and how were they analyzed. If the correspondences were employees or associates of Relanna then it is possible that information provided may have been compromised as those correspondents would provide answers that their superiors would likely agreed on. In this case, it will significantly impact on the result of the analysis.

In addition, if we assume that the report analysis was done right, and the data source was collated with minimal bias. The author has assumed that events in the last decade reflects the events in the last two years. There is possibility that if the analysis was done for just two years ago, there will be a significant change in the reported increase. In fact, it might be that there has been a significant decrease in the number of diary farms in the last two years. In which case making a recommendation base on the report may amount to particularly poor advice.

Furthermore, an increase in the number of dairy farms do not equate to an increase in the production of milk. The author fails to substantiate with evidence the relationship between number of dairy farms with milk production. It is possible that many of the dairy animals are being affected by plagues that has impacted production. Since price of good is linked to the interactions of demand and supply it will be a flawed argument to arrive at a hasty conclusion that farmers are inflating price of cream.

Also, the author mentions data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture that indicates that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms are actually lower now than they were ten years ago. First, if we assume that the data is correct, the data do not account for the labor cost of minority of Relannian dairy farms which may actually outweigh the cost for the others. Failure to substantiate on the overall cost of labor renders the recommendation prone to error.

In summary, for the recommendation to be robust, it is imperative that the author clarify on the methodology used in the report and also account for the previous two years. Also, it should communicate in clear terms whether the questionnaire in the report was between alternatives and if the data source accommodates the minimal bias acceptable. Furthermore how the number of dairy farm and improved processing in milk technology is related to the amount of milk produced and if the animals have not been affected by diseases recently. Failure to account for the above renders the argument invalid and the recommendation clearly of amount to hasty conclusion.