The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Although, the arguments in the letter appears cogent and the conclusion draw well informed, a deep look at the arguments shows that there are a lot of cogent questions that are yet to be substantiated with evidence and inherit unwarranted assumptions. Citing several unproven data, the author of the letter concludes that the advantages in sporting activities outweigh any advantages and recommends that Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine. This argument currently relies on unsubstantiated assumptions, thus amounts to a poor advice.

Firstly, the author posits without any proof that more and more children below the age of nine age participated in youth-league sports and that over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. The author fails to point to the source of the data and the way in which such research was carried out. Perhaps, the 40,000 young players that suffered injuries are not even in the age bracket. Even if they are in the age bracket, the author fails to prove the kind of training these beloved children underwent before going into the youth-league sports. Was it an organized coaching exercise done by experts? If any of the above is the case, then the conclusion is unwarranted since the author’s claim cannot be relied upon.

Secondly, the author quotes a recent study of youth-league soccer players in major cities. This research may entail an unrepresentative statistical data which do not reflect the entire youth-league soccer players through out the country, thus, significantly impacting on the credibility of the study. Perhaps, those players that even participated in the study are above nine age and thus do not would not reflect the true realities of children under nine.

Furthermore, even if the data represents a right sample size, the methodology may be problematic in two respects. One, were the respondents allowed to choose from a close-ended alternatives which would have limited their preference on how to respond. Secondly, was the response taken in confidentiality or the respondents’ identity is known. If it was not done in concealment, respondents would not reveal their true feelings on the issue. Either of the cases significantly impacts on the arguments and makes the conclusion drawn a particularly poor advice.

Admittedly, I concur with the education experts that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. However, there is no data or study to support that students that participate in sporting events perform woefully in class. Perhaps, engaging in sporting activities actually allow these children to multitask, take on initiatives on the field, and able to think independently which may improve their ability to learn and excel in class. Failure to prove data that state otherwise renders the assumption unwarranted.

In summary, the author has to substantiate with relevant evidences on some of the assumptions such as the unrepresentative statistical data, problematic research methodology. For instance, the author should cite a study to support their position on the 40000 young players that have suffered injuries and the causes of these injuries. The recent study that was carried out in major cities if they represent the required sample size and the margin of error in this study. Show or cite a study that corroborates his claim on the relationship between academic performance and sporting activities. Otherwise, this conclusion amounts to poor advise.